Sweet sweet (sigh)

Oh well whaddya know. I neglected writing again for a while, didnt I.

Between all the things that have taken some of my life hours, I forgot to take some time to simply squee and scribble a bit of junk. I’m caught in a reflective mood at the moment and we all know reflection makes for gorgeous, nonsense in a blogpost!

So, some great nonsense has taken place in my life recently. What has been 4 months in Port Elizabeth now feels like four years. Is this a good thing? Some great people studied the effects of time and our minds. The outcome seems to be that its not good or bad, but relative. Good to know.

I remember the day I flew in, thinking how odd it was that I wasn’t flying back to Joburg. Now I sort of think – its great that Im not flying back to Joburg but I wonder how all the great people in Joburg are. This is for two reasons.

  1. I spend an incredible amount of time with people now
  2. Joburg, in my brain is synonymous with some less-than-great moments
  3. Sometimes people in PE are very aware of only PE stuff

4 months in and I suspect the reality of me back in the city, a changed life, new people and a generally slower pace of life have caught up with me. Im sort of thinking, wow ok I am in PE now. Wow, some stuff in PE is ridiculusly great and some stuff is kind of awful.

We’ll focus on the great stuff because we should. My only rant will be Point #3 on my previous list, there at the top. I suspect that this is part of the charm of the city so its not all round a bad thing. It just can, sometimes feel as though you forget there are entire continents beyond the borders of PE. Whole chunks of land in existence, independent of this place.

The lovely things have vastly out-weighed the weird or frustrating things. The people I have met are great. There are two specific people I am so glad to know the way I do now! Look at that hey, some real friends who are new and great and awesome. Its also a trait of PE, that things do tend to revolve a bit more around the people, friends and crowds not the activities. There are fewer activities here. People get creative and you land up playing games and building puzzles more than fine dining or mall trawling.

So then there is walking (running a close second to family). You can just walk by the sea, or into the sea. Nifty right? I didnt think this would land up being in my top 1 things to do in the city but it has. Walkng times are like deep breathing times. You can stroll, stare and wonder about all sorts of marvellous things. A thing I often marvel at is the crane things at the harbour. When it is 18:00 in the evening and the sun and clouds are the backdrop  – it looks like a postcard. I think I must make a postcard of this image. Its lovely.

Having mom, dad and junior around is nothing short of amazing. There were many moments of missing them in Joburg which have vanished. I get to see them and laugh and shout at them often! What a blessing that I often forget. It would be so difficult to leave those people. All three of them with their own greatness.

I suppose, I’m back here for reasons known specifically to God. Its a learning curve inand an education in trusting in Him more and myself less. Joburg was great and its an old thing. I am grateful to be back here in a new season with Jesus, some cool people and new things!

Squee 🙂

Leave a Reply

