Soul Friends

What a year. I’ve been back in the hometown for a year this month. What a crazy time! Its ridiculous how good its been. I definitely have had one of the best years of my life. I am thankful for the time and the people that God has blessed me with.

I soon turn 26 and I’m filled with much gratitude.

I’m most thankful for Christ’s ongoing work in my soul. Without God’s work, I would have watched the year pass me by, with dead eyes.

Things are irreversibly different. Particularly on the front of community & friendship.

I thought I understood what it meant to love a friend until I was shown shameless, self-sacrificial love. I thought I knew how to care for people, until I was shown that caring continues beyond hurtful words.

I’d never dreamt that spending time with people could bring me such deep joy and happiness. I would never have guessed, that while we’re all still so broken, Christ’s giving hands and heart would be serving me over the year through his people, my friends.

When I think of these friends, I’m reminded of the early church in Hebrews. When I picture our laughter and moments of great despair – I am contented.

When I reflect on the ever-present struggle of continuous bashing from the world, I praise God for friends hands to hold and hearts to share.

When I consider the wondrous cross and all my scars and shame placed there, I want to run out and make more friends in Him who first showed me real friendship. To Jesus who walked a road with a cross, so that my soul might be set free from myself.

To my dearest friend Jesus, who first caught my tears as he showed me the truth of my heart and this world. When the teachers words “a chasing after the wind” rang true in my heart – I was lifted by my dearest friend into life.

Oh God – how my heart has become light in your rest and comfort. My Lord who keeps his sheep safe, I thank you for your people who are my constant light in a selfish & angry world.

To my friends, you make my heart deeply glad.

One thought on “Soul Friends

Leave a Reply

